Project "Lets Imitate RPG Maker" - Planning & Discussion

So, Frogatto is very nearly to a point where a total newb can sit down with it, click some buttons, and make their own stuff. Some miscellaneous ideas:

? ‘Starter’ pack: The ‘eliza’ module is a start, but we could really use some good, simple, polished examples.
- Decent, simple, but new art. Preferably with as few autotile rules as possible, to make addition easy at first. Baby steps. Should come with convenient built-in functions.
- Starting guides. Not ‘how to make new content’, but how to add to existing content.
? Object Level Instance Editor: We can edit the objects, but we can’t give an existing object in a level a new event. We have to go into a big ugly text file for that.
? Import: It might be nice if we could import into our project assets from elsewhere on the computer. Say, if I’ve got a sound file over in C:/My Sounds/Fire.wav, the importer would copy it to ~modules/module/sounds/Fire.wav and put a sound controller in the level to play it. Or something like that.
- Ideas: The new object wizard could be split into a new enemy wizard (basically, what we have now) and a new simple object wizard.
- The simple object would import the image from elsewhere, make a new object, and set the tool to place it. It wouldn’t do anything, but it would be very straightforward. This would lead, naturally, into using the object editor to spruce it up. The object editor could use some reference, on that note, it’s a bit hard to discover new functions at the moment? but I digress.

Anyway, I’m going to do a short study of RPG maker tomorrow, as it has quite a nice learning curve. Expect screenshots and ranty text.

OK, so I’ve started up RPG Maker (30-day free trial) for the first time, and, after getting the thing running and selecting ‘new project’, I am presented with the following screen.

This stands in direct contrast to Frogatto, at the moment, which presents this: